Agility Digit 5
Agility RoboticsHumanoid robotAnnounced
Digit 5 is the fifth-generation humanoid robot from Agility Robotics, unveiled on 15 September 2026; Agility says it is in development and gives its specifications as preliminary estimates from pre-production hardware. Agility states that it weighs 129 kg, stands 1.81 m, can repeatedly lift loads of up to 22.7 kg (50 lb), can reach heights of up to 2.2 m and uses a 90-minute battery that charges in 9 minutes. It adds safe human detection, safety cues and an independent safety controller, intended to let it work close to people without physical safety barriers, and swappable grippers with ISO-standard mounting flanges. Early access is expected in the first half of 2027 and general availability by the end of 2027; the previous generation, Digit 4, has worked at customer sites including GXO, Schaeffler, Amazon and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada. Agility publishes no public SDK, ROS 2 package or robot model; fleets are managed through its Agility Arc cloud platform.
AI-ASSISTEDOverview drafted from the cited sources with AI assistance. Awaiting editor review.
- HEIGHT
- 1.81 m (5 ft 11 in)
- WEIGHT
- 129 kg (284 lb)
- PAYLOAD
- 22.7 kg (50 lb)
- RUNTIME
- 90 min
Sources checked21 sources
DATA · 25 FIELDS
Specifications
- Official source
- Community measured
- Not published
| Height | 1.81 m (5 ft 11 in)Preliminary (Digit 5 in development) | Official source [2] |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 129 kg (284 lb)Preliminary (Digit 5 in development) | Official source [2] |
| Degrees of freedom | Not publishedNot stated for Digit 5. A 2024 Agility article gives 28 DOF for the Digit of that time (generation not named); not applied to Digit 5. | Not published |
| Locomotion | BipedalDigit 5 has a new leg design; Agility describes its humanoids as bipedal | Official source [2][15] |
| Walking speed | Not published | Not published |
| Ingress protection | Not published | Not published |
| Reach height | Up to 2.2 m (7.2 ft)Maximum reach height, not arm reach radius; preliminary estimate | Official source [1][2] |
| Max joint torque | Not published | Not published |
|---|---|---|
| Actuators | Proprietary cycloidal actuators in the new leg design | Official source [2] |
| Battery | Autonomous-charging battery system (capacity not published)Capacity, voltage and chemistry not published | Official source [2] |
|---|---|---|
| Runtime | 90 minPer charge; published as 90 minutes (= 1.5 h); preliminary | Official source [2] |
| Charging time | 9 minAutonomous charging; preliminary | Official source [2] |
| Run-to-charge ratio | 10:1Preliminary estimate | Official source [1][2] |
| Productive work per 24 h | 20+ h per 24 hProduct page: 20 h/24 h; press release: more than 20 hours; preliminary | Official source [1][2] |
| Compute | NVIDIA IGX Thor for the safety architecture; full compute configuration not publishedA March 2026 Agility article also says NVIDIA Jetson Thor runs reasoning models on its robots (generation not stated) | Official source [2][10][12] |
|---|---|---|
| Perception sensors | Cameras, depth sensors, IMUsSensor models and counts not published | Official source [2] |
| Connectivity | Cloud link to Agility Arc (mTLS, TLS 1.2+)The deployment-process article says deployed Digits are connected to the customer's WiFi network (current deployments); radio specs not published | Official source [2][9] |
| Safety system | Safe human detection, safety cues, independent safety controllerAgility states certain safety features are still in development | Official source [1][2] |
| End effector | Swappable grippers (ISO-standard mounting flanges)Agility says it chose swappable grippers rather than a five-fingered hand | Official source [2][11] |
|---|---|---|
| Payload | 22.7 kg (50 lb)Repeated lifting of loads up to 50 lb; product page rounds to 23 kg; preliminary | Official source [1][2] |
| Hand DOF | Not publishedDigit 5 uses swappable grippers, not a multi-fingered hand | Not published |
| Indicative price | Not publishedSales via contact form; current deployments move to a Robots-as-a-Service (RaaS) model | Not published |
|---|---|---|
| Availability | Early access H1 2027 (expected); GA by end of 2027 (expected)Markets: US and Canada, with EU and UK planned. Current Digit 4 deployments run through a pilot programme then RaaS. | Official source [1][2][4][9] |
| Regulatory marks | CE mark expectedExpected, not yet granted | Official source [2] |
| Warranty | Not published | Not published |
DATA · SOFTWARE & SIMULATION
Development
| INTERFACE | SUPPORT | PACKAGE / VERSION | SRC |
|---|---|---|---|
| SDK | Not published | No public Digit SDK or developer documentation found. The official GitHub organisation holds only an archived Cassie documentation repo and forks of infrastructure tools. A 2019 release described an API for the original Digit accessible onboard and via a wireless link; nothing public for Digit 5. | [17][18] |
| Fleet management (Agility Arc) | Official | Agility Arc: cloud platform for deploying and managing Digit fleets; fleet KPIs and integration with WMS, WES and MES. The 2024 launch release says Arc provides industry-standard APIs for that integration. | [2][16] |
| ROS 2 | Not published | No official ROS 2 package or statement found. | |
| Isaac Sim / Lab | Not published | No Digit 5 environment published. Isaac Lab's Digit tasks load the Digit 4 model (digit_v4.usd); Agility says it trains Digit in Isaac Lab internally. | [12][20] |
| MuJoCo | Not published | No public Digit MuJoCo model. MuJoCo Menagerie lists Agility Cassie only. Agility says it uses MuJoCo internally for simulation training. | [12][21] |
| Gazebo | Not published | No official or reputable third-party Gazebo model found. | |
| URDF / MJCF | Not published | No official URDF or MJCF. Isaac Lab references a USD asset (digit_v4.usd) on NVIDIA's Nucleus server, for Digit 4. | [20] |
| Languages | Not published | No public programming interface documented. |
TIMELINE · 1 EVENT SINCE 15 SEP 2026